The Society

The Gesellschaft für Klassifikation (GfKl) Data Science Society was founded in 1977 to develop research activities related to the classi­fication and ordering of data, to the processing of statistical or conceptual information, and to the construction of databases and information (retrieval) systems. It was one of the objectives to foster the exchange of methods and the personal contacts between different disciplines as well as to promote the education in this domain.

Managing Board (2016 – 2019):

  • President: Prof. Dr. B. Lausen (University of Essex)
  • 1st Vice President: Prof. Dr. H. A. Kestler (University of Ulm)
  • 2nd Vice President: Prof. Dr. D. Baier (University of Bayreuth)
  • Treasurer: Prof. Dr. A. Geyer-Schulz (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Extended Managing Board (2016 – 2019):

  • Prof. Dr. E. Huellermeier (University of Paderborn)
  • Prof. Dr. A.F.X. Wilhelm (Jacobs University Bremen)

Advisory Board (2016 – 2019):

  • Prof. (i.R.) Dr. Dr.h.c. H.-H. Bock (RWTH, Aachen)
  • Prof. Dr. R. Decker (Universität Bielefeld)
  • Prof. (em) Dr. W. Gaul (KIT, Karlsruhe)
  • Dr. C. Hennig (UCL, London)
  • H.-J. Mucha (Weierstraß-Institut Berlin)
  • Prof. (em) Dr. O. Opitz (Universität Augsburg)
  • Prof. (em) Dr. G. Ritter (Universität Passau)
  • F. Scholze (KIT, Karlsruhe)
  • Prof. Dr. M. Spiliopoulou (Universität Magdeburg)
  • Prof. Dr. W. Steiner (Technische Universität Clausthal)
  • Prof. Dr. G. Ultsch (Universität Marburg)
  • Prof. Dr. C. Weihs (Technische Universität Dortmund)

Managing Editors “Studies in Classification, Data Analysis and Knowledge Organization”:


  • Prof. Dr. C. Weihs (Dortmund)
  • Prof. (em) Dr. W. Gaul (Karlsruhe)
  • Prof. Dr. M. Vichi (Rom)

Members of GfKl im Council der International Federation of Classification Societies (IFCS):

  • Prof. Dr. H. A. Kestler (Ulm)
  • Prof. Dr. C. Weihs (Dortmund)

General Correspondence:

Prof. Dr. Berthold Lausen (President)
Mathematical Sciences
University of Essex
Wivenhoe Park
Tel: +44 1206 87 2958

Correspondence concerning Membership etc.:

Prof. Dr. Andreas Geyer-Schulz (Treasurer)
Institut für Informationswirtschaft und -management
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
76128 Karlsruhe

Addresses of the Managing Board:

Prof. Dr. Hans A. Kestler (1. Vice President)
Institute of Medical Systems Biology
Ulm University
89069 Ulm
Tel: +49 (0)731 5024248

Prof. Dr. Daniel Baier (2. Vice President)
Lehrstuhl für Innovations- und Dialogmarketing (BWL XIV)
Universität Bayreuth
Tel.: +49 (0)921 55-4340,
Fax: +49 (0)921 55-4342
Universität Bayreuth
95440 Bayreuth

Prof. Dr. Eyke Hüllermeier
Institut für Informatik
Universität Paderborn
Pohlweg 51
33098 Paderborn
Tel.: +49 (0)525 160-1771
Warburger Str. 100
33098 Paderborn

Prof. Dr. Adalbert F.X. Wilhelm
Jacobs University Bremen
Campus Ring 1
28759 Bremen
Tel: +49 (0)421 200-3402
Fax: +49 (0)421 200-3303

Addresses of the Advisory Board:

Prof. (i.R.) Dr. Dr.h.c. Hans-Hermann Bock
RWTH Aachen
Vorder-Winterbach 36
77794 Lautenbach

Prof. (em) Dr. Wolfgang Gaul
Institut für Entscheidungstheorie und Unternehmensforschung
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
76128 Karlsruhe

Dr. Christian Hennig
Department of Statistical Science
University College
WC1E 6BT London

Prof. (em) Dr. Otto Opitz
Prinz-Karl-Weg 1 B
86159 Augsburg

Prof. (em) Dr. Gunter Ritter
Universität Passau
Fakultät für Informatik und Mathematik
94030 Passau

Frank Scholze
Direktor der KIT-Bibliothek
KIT-Bibliothek Süd
76131 Karlsruhe

Prof. Dr. Myra Spiliopoulou
Lehrstuhl “Wirtschaftsinformatik II” (Knowledge Management & Discovery)
Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
Fakultät für Informatik
39106 Magdeburg

Prof. Dr. Alfred Ultsch
Fachbereich Mathematik und Informatik
35032 Marburg

Prof. Dr. Claus Weihs
Fachbereich Statistik
Universität Dortmund
Vogelpothsweg 87
44221 Dortmund