First Announcement of DSSV 2018

By | 30. November 2017

Dear members and friends of GfKl,
We are pleased to announce the Data Science, Statistics & Visualisation 2018 (DSSV 2018). The conference will take place from 9th to 11th July at TU Wien (Austria) and is organized by the International Association for Statistical Computing (IASC-ISI).

This meeting shall create a forum to discuss recent progress and emerging ideas in these different disciplines and encourage informal contacts and discussions among all the participants. The conference welcomes contributions to practical aspects of data science, statistics and visualisation, and in particular those which are linking and integrating these subject areas. Presentations should thus be oriented towards a very wide scientific audience, and can cover topics such as machine learning and statistical learning, the visualisation and verbalization of data, big data infrastructures and analytics, interactive learning, advanced computing, and other important themes.


Keynote Speakers

  • Jerome H. Friedman, Stanford University, USA
  • Helwig Hauser, University of Bergen, Norway

Invited Speakers

  • Mia Hubert, KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Sara van de Geer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Ryan Tibshirani, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Zeynep Akata, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Eric Postma, Tilburg University, The Netherlands

Important Dates

Registration and abstract submission start January 8, 2018
Early bird registration due March 26, 2018
Deadline for abstract submission April 9, 2018
Notification of acceptance April 30, 2018
Standard registration due May 11, 2018
Final upload of accepted contributions May 15, 2018
Preliminary programme announcement June 15, 2018
DSSV 2018 conference July 9-11, 2018

Scientific Programme Committee

  • Patrick Groenen, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Chair)
  • Rosário Oliveira, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Peter Filzmoser, TU Wien, Austria
  • Chun-Houh Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Daniel Keim, University of Konstanz, Germany
  • Andreas Rauber, TU Wien, Austria
  • Peter Rousseeuw, KU Leuven, Belgium

Local Organizing Committee

  • Peter Filzmoser, TU Wien, Austria (Chair)
  • Silvia Miksch, TU Wien, Austria
  • Andreas Rauber, TU Wien, Austria
  • Efstathia Bura, TU Wien, Austria
  • Allan Hanbury, TU Wien, Austria
  • Klaus Nordhausen, TU Wien, Austria

Further information, about the conference, the registration and the submission of abstracts can be found on